About the Journal

Editorial Board

(Acting) Editor-in-chief

Tiffany Leung, MD, MPH, FACP, FAMIA, FEFIM

Scientific Editor, JMIR Publications (Canada)

Editorial Board Members 

Maurice Mulvenna, BSc, MPhil, PhD

Professor, Ulster University, UK


Professor Maurice Mulvenna, is a researcher in computer science and artificial intelligence at Ulster University, known for his contribution to interdisciplinary research in health, mental health and wellbeing with colleagues in psychology, business, nursing, and healthcare. He is a senior member of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Association for Computing Machinery, and a chartered fellow of the British Computer Society. In 2014, he was elected as a Board Member of the International Society for Gerontechnology (ISG). He has published over 400 internationally peer-reviewed publications. He is principal investigator or investigator on more than 120 research projects with total research funding of €66M, many of which relate to the development of health and wellbeing interventions, including the ChatPal project which includes the design and trial of a chatbot to support mental health and wellbeing. He chaired the 32nd British HCI conference in 2018, the 31st European Cognitive Ergonomics Conference in 2019 and the International Conference on Information and Communication Technologies for Ageing Well and e-Health 2021-2023. Maurice is a past winner of the European €200K IST Grand Prize, and has won the Societal Impact Award at the UK National KTP Best of the Best Awards 2020. He also won the Inaugural Award for Industry-Academic Collaboration from the Centre for Behaviour Change Conference on Behaviour Change for Health: Digital and Other Innovative Methods, in 2019 with colleagues.

Research Focus

Professor Mulvenna’s research interests include: artificial intelligence; data mining; data analytics; digital mental health & wellbeing; dementia; assistive technologies; innovation, knowledge and technology transfer.

Join the Editorial Board

FAQ Article How to become an EB member

Past Editorial Board Members


Peter Rieckmann, MD, FAAN, FEAN, FRCPC - Director, Center for Clinical Neuroplasticity, Medical Park Loipl-Bischofswiesen & Professor of Neurology at Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremburg, Germany


Dr Rieckmann received his medical degree from the University of Göttingen, Germany in 1988. After his postdoctoral fellowship at the NIH, Bethesda, USA he completed his training in Neurology at the National Institute for Nervous Disease, London, UK and the University of Göttingen, Germany.  His academic and clinical positions have included Professor for Neurology, Dept. of Neurology, as well as head of the Clinical Research Group for Multiple Sclerosis and Neuroimmunology, at the Julius-Maximilians University of Würzburg.

In 2007 Professor Rieckmann became the Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada Research Chair and Director of the MS Program and Full Tenured Professor at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada. He is a founding member of the EndMS campaign in Canada and was instrumental in establishing the Center for Brain Health at UBC in Vancouver (http://www.centreforbrainhealth.ca).

In September 2009 he started a new position as Chair of the Department of Neurology at the Academic Hospital in Bamberg, and Professor of Neurology at the University of Erlangen, Germany. Together with colleagues from cardiology, psychiatry, neurosurgery, vascular medicine and neuroradiology, he raised funds for Germany’s first Heart and Brain Center.

In 2017 Prof. Rieckmann became medical director and head of the Hospital for Nervous diseases at Medical Park Loipl/Bavaria. There, he has recently established the first German Center for Clinical Neuroplasticity.

His major research interests are repair mechanisms in acute and chronic diseases of the nervous system, facilitation of neuroplasticity and innovative outcome parameters in rehabilitation.

Section Editors

Deborah Fels, PhD, PEng

Ryerson University, Canada


Dr. Fels is currently employed as a professor at the Ted Rogers School of Information Technology Management, and is the Director of the Inclusive Media and Design Centre at Ryerson University. Her research interests involve inclusive design, access to media and technology for people with disabilities and older adults, inclusive video game design, and inclusive business.

Alex Mihailidis, PhD, PEng

Scientific Director AGE-WELL Network of Centres of Excellence, Canada


Dr. Mihailidis is the Barbara G. Stymiest Research Chair in Rehabilitation Technology at Toronto Rehabilitation Institute – UHN/University of Toronto. He is an Associate Professor in the Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy and at the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering at the University of Toronto (U of T), as well as holds a cross appointment in the Department of Computer Science at the U of T. His research disciplines include biomedical and biochemical engineering, computer science, geriatrics and occupational therapy. Dr. Mihailidis is an internationally recognized researcher in the field of technology and aging. He has published over 150 journal and conference papers in this field and co-edited two books: Pervasive computing in healthcare and Technology and Aging. Dr.  Mihailidis is very active in the rehabilitation engineering profession and is currently the President for the Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society for North America (RESNA). He is the Principal Investigator and a joint Scientific Director of AGE-WELL

Jutta Trevinarus, PhD

Inclusive Design Research Center, Toronto, Canada


Jutta Treviranus is the Director of the Inclusive Design Research Centre (IDRC) and professor at OCAD University in Toronto http://inclusivedesign.ca, formerly the Adaptive Technology Resource Centre. The IDRC conducts proactive research and development in the inclusive design of emerging information and communication technology and practices. Jutta also heads the Inclusive Design Institute a multi-university regional centre of expertise on inclusive design. Jutta is the Co-Director of Raising the Floor International. She also established and directs an innovative graduate program in Inclusive Design. Jutta has led many international multi-partner research networks that have created broadly implemented technical innovations that support inclusion. These include the Fluid Project, Fluid Engage, CulturAll, Stretch, FLOE and many others. Jutta and her team have pioneered personalization as an approach to accessibility in the digital domain. She has played a leading role in developing accessibility legislation, standards and specifications internationally (including WAI ATAG, IMS AccessForAll, ISO 24751, and AODA Information and Communication).

Research Focus

Leveraging networks to deliver personalized accessibility; supporting inclusive design through authoring and development tools; the importance of diversity, the outliers, and the margins for economic and social prosperity